Metacognitive summary – Module 8

For your post this week, write a metacognitive summary of your experience thus far in developing your unit-sized curriculum plan.

“Metacognition refers to higher order thinking which involves active control over the cognitive processes engaged in learning. Activities such as planning how to approach a given learning task, monitoring comprehension, and evaluating progress toward the completion of a task are metacognitive in nature.” – somewhere online.


One of the challenges I have faced in my CIOS 233 is getting students to feel comfortable giving constructive feedback to each other. In the past, I’ve asked and encouraged students to post examples of their work and give feedback to each other with suggestions for improvement. I do have a small class size so it has been difficult to get this process started and eventually comes to only one of two students giving very superficial feedback to each other.I realize now that I just wasn’t giving enough guidance on what to look for and how to give feedback. I was looking at this experience from the expert side and I forgot what is was like to be asked to give feedback as a novice. On the other hand, I do remember getting feedback when I was first starting out and I took the criticism very personally so I want to make sure that I don’t put my students in that same situation.

Giving constructive feedback also means that you know what to look for. I have had my student in the past create a checklist of items that they put together when they are creating a project but I didn’t have them do that until very late in the semester. I have provided checklists for them and I think that these might have been overlooked because they weren’t sure what to do with them.

My new plan is to combine students creating their own personal checklists with some guidance on how to give constructive feedback to others. I’m hoping that students can use the elements they have added to their own checklists as triggers for giving feedback. I think this strategy will provide a couple of outcomes. This will be something that students can take with them after the class when they are creating their own projects when using InDesign to do some self-evaluation. If they explore other Adobe product or take classes on Adobe software, they should be able to use some of the elements for whatever graphic projects they create. Finally, being able to give feedback to other should resonate with the student to aid in their own design decisions.about

If I scaffold critical feedback so that they are practicing with me at first and then leading up to giving feedback, I hope they will gain confidence as well as a congenial style so that the feedback is actually helpful. Of course, I try to model this experience when I’m giving feedback to each of the students. If I follow my own advice this should provide a good example.

Brook and I met today to talk about our unit plans. She gave me some really good things to think about which I’m excited to share later in the week.

Leave a Reply

